NDP ministers Harry Bains, Bruce Ralston and Rob Fleming won’t seek re-election

Three provincial NDP ministers have announced they won’t seek re-election in British Columbia’s fall vote.

Harry Bains, Bruce Ralston and Rob Fleming were all first elected in 2005 and have served five terms in the legislature but say they will not run for provincial election on Oct. 19.

Minister Bains, who represents the Surrey-Newton riding, says in a statement it was the honour of a lifetime to represent his constituents and serve as B.C.’s labour minister.

Transport Minister Fleming says it’s been a privilege to have served the constituents of Victoria-Swan Lake for “the better part of two decades.”

Minister Ralston, who represents Surrey-Whalley and is B.C.’s forests minister, has confirmed on social media that he won’t seek a sixth term.

The three ministers join at least eight other NDP MLAs who have said they are not seeking re-election.